Hannah Pearce (2016) wins NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Hannah Pearce is one of four students in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Texas A&M University to earn the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. Hannah is pursuing a PhD in Bioengineering at Rice University.

Cara Abecunas (2016) earns prestigious Luther F. Witmer Prize

Cara Abecunas received the prestigious Luther F. Witmer Prize awarded annually to the chemical and biomolecular engineering senior with the most outstanding accomplishments. Cara also received an honorable mention for her NSF Graduate Research Fellowship submission.

The University of New Hampshire interviews Rachel Sabol (2016)

UNH Today interviewed Rachel Sabol as part of their “The Places They’ll Go” series before she moved to Cleveland to begin her doctorate in the biomedical sciences training program at Case Western Reserve University’s School of Medicine. Rachel was also featured in Scholars News about the new Amgen-NIH Science Education Fellowship, which Rachel participated in during the summer of 2017.

Chloe Wu (2016) wins Dean’s Prize

Chloe Wu took home the Dean’s Prize for her poster presentation at UCLA’s 2017 Research Poster Day, which showcases undergraduate research in all areas.

John Ovian (2015) wins NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

John was awarded the 2017 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. John completed his Master’s at the University of Connecticut and will begin his PhD in Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University in Fall 2017. John also received the Portz Fellowship for his research.

Nisha Gopal (2015) earns Fulbright Fellowship

Nisha Gopal received the Fulbright scholarship and completed an MS at CNRS University of Pierre and Marie Curie. (Watch a video of her experience.) Nisha will begin a PhD at Stanford University in Structural Biology in Fall 2017.

Jamie Cyr (2015) earns Gates Cambridge Scholarship

Jamie is Smith College’s first Gates Cambridge Scholar. She will be using the funds to finish her PhD at the University of Cambridge. Jamie was also a finalist for the prestigious Rhodes Scholarship.

Bob Lamm (2012) wins Bestin Innovation/Technology Idea Prize

Bob Lamm took home the Perkins Coie $2500 Bestin Innovation/Technology Idea prize at the 2017 University of Washington Business Plan Competition. Bob Lamm is a Bioengineering PhD student at UW.

Ahuva Weltman (2011) receives Neuroengineering Award and USC Stevens Most Innovative Award

Ahuva Weltman has received the USC Viterbi Department of Biomedical Engineering 2017 Neuroengineering Award and the 2017 USC Stevens Most Innovative Award as part of the 21st Fred S. Grodins Research Symposium. Ahuva is a student of the MD/PhD Program at USC.